Ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

I can hardly believe how long it’s been since I last posted in this blog. Since my last recipe commentary, Robin Ellis has published a follow up book, which I will buy and use and blog about.

So much has happened in the last few years. I had to retire on disability due to mental and physical problems that keep me from maintaining a work schedule. I ended my three-decade plus marriage for the sake of my overall health and well-being, and moved from Michigan to Maryland almost a month ago. The life I imagined living until I died has crashed and burned, but God has given me beauty for those ashes. I haven’t moved into my own residence yet, but I know it’s in store for me, and I am grateful to be a temporary member of my mother’s household for the time being.

My stuff, including all my kitchen necessities and THE cookbook (along with a few others) are waiting for me in my PODS unit near my hoped-for residence. I know that before long I will be in my very own kitchen with fresh new spices and foods and a new container herb garden started. I will be cooking, photographing, eating and blogging about my favorites and especially untried recipes, and although I don’t have much a** left to cook off, I will happily be maintaining a healthy body.

I’ve already mentioned in the beginning of this blog that I was formerly a Type II diabetic and also unable to tolerate gluten. A new twist in my cooking is “paleo” adaptations. I will document my ups and downs in eliminating grains and most dairy, and incorporating more fermented food and drink in an effort to improve my general health and note whether my symptoms said to evidence “leaky gut” syndrome abate. I don’t have a solid POV about this, but based on reading about paleo and leaky gut, I am willing to give it a shot. I invite reader input about this as I go along.

I may go further into my changing reality in future posts. For now, I’m just happy to be out of a situation that was killing me inside and out, and sharing how faithful God has been in giving me a new start in life.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment