A Wing Thing

Chicken Wings Roasted with Lemon and Black Pepper (p. 124); Cauliflower with Mustard Seeds (p. 72)

Here are two recipes I had not tried from Delicious Dishes until now.  The cauliflower dish is one I’ve wanted to use since Robin put it up on his blog a few weeks back.  To my delight, mine turned out looking like his photos illustrated.

The chicken wings I had to test-drive, mainly to see if I might try to adapt them to my occasional craving for Buffalo wings.  I followed the recipe exactly and they are wonderful as is, but these are mild although flavorful.  Putting the two dishes together does work, but the spice and heat is in the vegetable, not the meat.

I had to use brown mustard seeds that I had because I haven’t found any black mustard seed locally, although I’m sure I can get some by mail or even perhaps in a town nearby.  To my dismay, I opened my spice drawer only to find that the fennel seed I thought I had was not there, so I substituted caraway, which I have used before with cauliflower.  It turned out fine, but I will do this recipe with the exact ingredients as soon as I can find them.

The wings I will set about to adapt to satisfy when I’m jonesin’ for the hot wings.  It shouldn’t be hard to do, especially since I usually keep some kind of hot wing sauce in the pantry which should cover up any blunders.

Right now, the House finale is about to start, so I’m outta here.  You already know I’m hooked on hot Englishmen . . .

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “A Wing Thing”

  1. Kerry says :

    Looks great! BUt maybe this would have been a better side dish. I do hope to see some of these in your garden this year,http://pinterest.com/pin/180707003768355530/

Leave a comment